Past Directors

Henry S. Turner (2016-2018)

TurnerHeadshot2Henry S. Turner is Associate Vice Chancellor for Research in the Humanities and Arts and Professor of English at Rutgers University - New Brunswick, where he has taught since 2007. He specializes in Renaissance literature and intellectual history, especially drama, philosophy, and the history of science. He is the author of The English Renaissance Stage: Geometry, Poetics, and the Practical Spatial Arts, 1580-1630 (Oxford, 2006), Shakespeare’s Double Helix (Continuum/Bloomsbury, 2008), and The Corporate Commonwealth: Pluralism and Political Fictions in England, 1516-1651 (Chicago, 2016). . His articles, essays, reviews, and interviews have appeared in Annals of Science, Configurations, differences, ELH, Isis, JEMCS, Nano, postmedieval, Public Books, Renaissance Drama, Renaissance Quarterly, Shakespeare Quarterly, Shakespeare Studies, South Central Review, and The Spenser Review, as well as in a wide range of edited collections.  With Mary Thomas Crane (Boston College), he co-edits the “Penn Series in Literature and Science” (University of Pennsylvania Press).

Professor Turner’s work has been supported by fellowships from the National Endowment of the Humanities, the National Humanities Center, and by a Frederick Burkhardt Fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies for residence at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.

William Galperin (2012-2016)

2e Past Directors William GalperinWilliam Galperin is Distinguished Professor of English at Rutgers, where he specializes in the literature and culture of the British Romantic period. He is the author of Revision and Authority in Wordsworth (1989), The Return of the Visible in British Romanticism (Johns Hopkins, 1993), and The Historical Austen (2002). His new book, The History of Missed Opportunities: British Romanticism and the Emergence of the Everyday, was published by Stanford University Press in 2017. He is the recipient of the Rutgers University Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research, as well as of awards from the ACLS, the NEH, and the Howard Foundation.

Meredith McGill (2008-2012)

2e Past Directors Meredith McGillMeredith L. McGill is an Associate Professor of English. She is the author of American Literature and the Culture of Reprinting, 1837-1853 (2003) and the editor of two collections of essays: The Traffic in Poems: Nineteenth-Century Poetry and Transatlantic Exchange (2008) and Taking Liberties with the Author (2013). Her overview of the last thirty-five years of scholarship on book history and intellectual property can be found in Book History, Volume 16 (2013). Her research and teaching interests include nineteenth-century American literature, the history of the book in American culture, American poetry and poetics, law and literature, literary theory, and media history.

Michael Warner (2006-2008)

2e Past Directors Michael WarnerMichael Warner was the Board of Governor’s Professor of English at Rutgers University. He specializes in early American literature and print culture, queer theory, new media, and secularism. He is the author of The Letters of the Republic (1990), The Trouble with Normal (1999), and Publics and Counterpublics (2002), and he has edited and co-edited numerous books, including Fear of a Queer Planet (1993), The English Literatures of America: 1500-1800 (1997), and Varieties of Secularism in a Secular Age (2010). The recipient of numerous awards and prizes, Professor Warner is currently the Seymour H. Knox Professor of English and American Studies at Yale University.

George Levine (1986-2006)

2e Past Directors George LevineThe founder of the CCA, George Levine is the Kenneth Burke Professor Emeritus of English Literature at Rutgers University. During his career, he published many books on Victorian literature, literary realism, science, and secularism: The Boundaries of Fiction (1968), The Realistic Imagination (1981), Darwin and the Novelists (1988), Lifebirds (1997), Dying to Know (2002), Darwin Loves You: Natural Selection and the Re-enchantment of the World (2006), How to Read the Victorian Novel (2007), Realism, Ethics, and Secularism (2008) and Darwin The Writer (2011). He has received numerous awards, including prestigious fellowships from the NEH, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the Guggenheim Foundation.